Tag Archives: victorian mysteries

And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander

A Victorian mystery series featuring  amateur sleuth Lady Emily Ashton

“And Only to deceive” is the first book in the Lady Emily Ashton Amateur sleuth series.  The first couple of books are fun to read and I have to admit I was impressed when Emily challenges the gender barriers by insisting she join the men after dinner for a cigar and port.  She is a smart cookie –choosing to spend her spare time translating Homer from the original Greek, yet she still manages to be exquisitely beautiful and fashionably dressed at all times. Did I mention she speaks several languages fluently. Around the third or fourth book she starts to be such a know-it-all that she becomes annoying and at times dangerous. (You need to listen to other people sometimes Emily)  But I do like this series and she has a charming love interest in Colin .I am waiting for the next installment  A Crimson Warning which will be available at my library soon. The other titles in this series are……….

And Only to Deceive (2005)

A poisoned Season (2007)

A Fatal Waltz (2008)

Tears of Pearl (2009)

Dangerous to know ( 2010)

A Crimson Warning (2011)

A this point I would like to make a few comparisons between this series and the Lady Julia Grey series reviewed yesterday Sept. 17 2011.  They are both Victorian ladies born to Titled families and wealth. Their detecting career (or is it a hobby) is born when their husbands die a mysterious death. I personally prefer Lady Julia for her witty banter and she doesn’t take herself too seriously. And Nicholas Brisbain is just so complicated and interesting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical mysteries, Mysterious Ladies, mystery fiction

Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

Victorian Mysteries 

Lady Julia Grey Series by Deanna Raybourn.

The year is 1886 and Lady Julia Grey is a young widow.  She meets the dashing but secretive Nicholas Brisbane when her husband dies suddenly and it unfolds that the  husband had retained Brisbane regarding some threats on his life. Brisbane is an “agent of inquiry” considered a lowly person-of-trade in Lady Julia’s society but Lady Julia herself is considered a bit of an oddball among “the ton.” Julia’s siblings figure prominently in each novel including her lesbian sister and her doctor wannabe brother. The books are told in the first person with Lady Julia narrating which is what makes them so delightful.  Julia has a dry wit and her banter with other characters is amusing.  There are presently 5 books in this series but the most recent book is not yet available at my library. (It is available in bookstores)     The titles are……….

Silent in the Grave (2007)

Silent in the Sanctuary (2008)

Silent on the Moor (2009)

Dark Road to Darjeeling (2010)

Dark Enquiry (2011)

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical mysteries, Mysteries, Mysterious Ladies, mystery fiction